30 Days, Day 19: My Fitness Pal

Now that I’m home with Baby all day, I eat a lot. It’s hard to not eat the entire cake in the fridge when you’re home with it all day, and especially when your husband insists on not being addicted to sweets like you are, and so doesn’t do his part in reducing the amount of temptation cake available. So, like many moms, I still have ten pounds left over from being pregnant. (Actually, I think I’d lost all but five, but then gained some back, thanks to things like eating entire cakes.) My clothes still don’t fit right, and because I am cheap and don’t want to buy new clothes, I figure I should try to lose those last ten pounds, instead.

I asked my sister-in-law, who has had twins (twice!) what she did to get back in shape after pregnancy, and she said myfitnesspal.com was what worked for her, so I figured I’d give it a try.

I’m now on my second day, and it definitely seems to help me control how much I eat, especially the extra helpings I don’t really need, and the snacks I would normally eat mindlessly just because they were there — and it has been eye opening about just how many calories I was taking in with my overindulgent dessert habits.

Yesterday, the first day I tried it, I had some calories left over at the end of the day and decided to have ice cream with my husband. I tried out several amounts and found that I had to get down to 1/2 cup of ice cream to stay within my calorie limit. But I just ate it really slow, and that made the difference between the half cup and my normal bowlful seem less depressing.

So I think this might be a good thing. The thing I always dreaded about doing a calorie-counting thing was the tediousness of typing in every little thing you ate, so it helps that you can find almost anything you can think of already listed as options to input. So, I guess… Hurrah, myfitnesspal!

UPDATE: It worked! After several weeks, I successfully lost those last ten pounds and then some! I’ve been using the website only sporadically for the last while, but I’ve changed my outlook on food enough to rein in my less desirable eating habits.

Leave a Reply

