30 Days, Day 3: Draw a Horse

I have never been a very talented artist, but I do like to doodle. I’m best at drawing things with lots of straight lines –pencils, books, cubes, that kind of thing. I’m worst at drawing things that are alive, like people and animals. And among all the animals that I feel least competent at drawing, horses rank the highest.

So for day three, I decided to learn to draw a horse.

For comparison’s sake, I drew a horse on my own, first.

Ugly Horse 001
Actually, this is about the best horse I’ve ever drawn.

I made it a unicorn. And a Pegasus. Just in case.

Then I looked up a horse-drawing tutorial online, here: How to Draw a Horse. And I drew the horse below while watching The X-Files (which people promise me gets better).

Slightly Better Horse 001

It’s not fantastic, but it’s not too bad. It’s about on par with a mildly-competent sixth grader, I think, and definitely better than my Pegaunicorn above.

Leave a Reply

