30 Days, Day 1: Map the Countries of the World

You know that thing they sometimes do on late night talk shows where they go out on the streets and ask people questions to make said people look stupid? (Or highlight said people’s ignorance, perhaps?) Since one of my greatest goals in life is to convince everyone around me that I’m really smart, I dread looking stupid like that. I remember once watching a video of people misidentifying various countries on a world map, and I don’t want to be one of those people.

So, for my first “Thirty Days to a More Powerful Me” exercise, I decided to memorize the location of every country in the world on a map.

There are lots of countries.

Here are the resources I used:

Blank and labeled maps here: Education Place

Countries of the World quiz here: Sporcle

(Sidenote: Sporcle.com is one of my great Internet loves. It’s how I learned all 199 Harry Potter chapter titles.)

This actually was a lot easier than I thought it would be. I found myself very grateful to whatever person or people taught me memorization skills (something I found my middle schoolers to be terrifically lacking when I listened to them try to memorize the balcony scene from Romeo and Juliet)(an assignment from a different class; I taught math).

Disclaimer, though: I like memorizing. Like, for fun.

Leave a Reply

